Wednesday, 6 January 2010

East Sussex

East Sussex (pronounced /ˈsʌsɪks/) is a county in South East England. It is bordered by the counties of Kent, Surrey, Brighton and Hove and West Sussex, and to the south by the English Channel.

East Sussex is part of the ancient kingdom of the South Saxons, who established themselves there in the fifth century AD, after the departure of the Romans, although the area had been populated for many thousands of years before then. Archaeological remains are plentiful, especially in the upland areas. The area's position on the coast has also meant that there were many invaders, including the Romans and later the Normans. Earlier industries have included fishing, iron-making, and the wool trade, all of which have declined, or lost completely.

No comments: